Your Personal South African Travel Selection

Be better prepared

When it comes to travelling in South Africa, a little time spent looking through these frequently asked questions will help make your trip even more enjoyable.

1. When to travel

Which months have the best weather for travel to South Africa?

The weather plays a crucial role in choosing the places you will want to visit during your stay in South Africa. True connoisseurs of the country even rate the winter months of June, July, and August as the more beautiful.

A safari is particularly recommended during these months. Nights and mornings can be quite cool, but the pleasant warmth of the days more than makes up for it. During this time, many young animals are born and the underbrush is not so dense, so this is a great opportunity to successfully discover animals which may be more difficult to see at other times of the year. From August, the whales near Cape Town can be observed, while the beautiful flora and fauna on the west coast of the country can be best admired in August and September.

When is the best time to travel to Cape Town? Always, naturally!

These are the peculiarities of the seasons in Cape Town and the Cape region:

Spring: It is September, the temperatures in Cape Town are rising again and Spring is in the air. Cape Town is now in full bloom. The west coast is famous for this, and Spring is a perfect time to visit Cape Town. The weather at the Cape is generally mild, with average temperatures between a minimum of 15 degrees in September and 17 degrees in October, with many days in the [mid-]twenties and often higher! The days are also longer, offering enough time to enjoy Cape Town’s glorious sunshine.

Summer: The hot season starts at the end of November and lasts until February. The average temperature then is 25 degrees, but remember that the warmest months are January and February – you can easily sweat at over 30 degrees, so you should plan activities accordingly.

Autumn: Autumn in Cape Town – March and April – is one of the most beautiful times to visit. The vineyards in the Cape turn bright red, brown, orange, and yellow, while the temperatures remain pleasant. The average temperature in March is 20 degrees, and 18 degrees in April. The wind abates, while the slopes in the countryside turn into fields of gold and scarlet.

Winter: The winter season runs from the end of May to August. Wind and rain sometimes sweep the streets of Cape Town, but on other days the temperature rises to 25 degrees. Anyone who visits Cape Town in Winter and wonders what to pack had best take something for all seasons. Sun, rain, clouds, wind: You experience everything during a good Cape Town winter. Winter is a delightful time to visit Cape Town for those who love nature but do not need 30 degrees every day. The vegetation literally soaks up the water and blooms all over Cape Town. You will never experience the Cape Peninsula greener than at this time of year.


2. Clothing

Which clothes are recommended for a trip through South Africa?

For your holiday in South Africa, your clothing should be light and airy in order to best fit the warm, moderate climate. As there can be great temperature differences between day and night in each region, a jacket or warm sweater, sturdy shoes, as well as rain gear, should be included in your luggage. In general, casual clothing is appropriate unless you plan to attend a particularly formal event.

When on safari, neutral colors such as brown, beige and khaki are ideal. Strong colors or white could irritate the animals. You can protect yourself against the intense sunshine by wearing sunglasses and suitable head cover, and by using sunscreen.


3. Malaria

Do I need malaria tablets for my holidays in South Africa?

There is no danger of malaria in most areas in South Africa, except the Kruger National Park, which is considered a malaria area. Even though the risk of malaria in the Kruger National Park is regarded as being very low, there is indeed a slightly higher risk during the rainy season between November and March, mainly due to the precipitation that occurs during this period. Please consult your doctor or public health service about recommended and/or required vaccinations and malaria drugs before travelling.


4. Vaccinations

Do I need vaccinations for my trip to South Africa?

Whether or not you need a vaccination for your holiday in South Africa depends on the exact location of the holiday. There is no vaccination required for a visit to Cape Town, the Garden Route, and the majority of South Africa. However, there are sections of the Kruger National Park where it is advisable to vaccinate against some diseases. Please consult your doctor or public health service about recommended and/or required vaccinations and malaria drugs before travelling.


5. Security

How safe is a holiday in Cape Town and South Africa?

Personal security during a holiday in Cape Town and South Africa is a much-discussed topic among travelers. My personal tip is that if you do not do anything in Cape Town or South Africa that you would not do in Barcelona or New York, or indeed in other major cities and countries, your holiday in South Africa will be as safe as it would be anywhere else in the world.


6. Visa

Do I need a visa for South Africa?

German citizens can visit South Africa for up to 90 days without a visa. You must have a passport that is valid for at least 30 days after your departure from South Africa, and have at least two free pages for visas.


7. Travel with Children

Instructions for the entry of minors (source: German Federal Foreign Office)

New regulations for the travel of minors to South Africa entered into force on 26th May 2014; that is, from 1st June 2015 onwards, persons under the age of 18 must also present a birth certificate on entry and exit.

According to the South African Department of Home Affairs, such certification can also be provided in languages other than English. However, short-term amendments to these provisions, or even different interpretations by individual agencies, cannot be discounted or excluded. Therefore, in order to avoid difficulties when entering and leaving South Africa, it is recommended, until further notice, to provide international birth certificates or, if appropriate, certified English translations when travelling with minors.

If a minor is not accompanied by both parents who share right of custody, it must also be shown, via a sworn affidavit or statutory declaration, plus certified copy of the passport and contact details of the absent parent, that the absent parent either consents to the travel, or that such a declaration of consent is not necessary; that is, via a certified court determination on sole custody, or a death certificate of the absent parent or, in the case that the minor person resides in Germany, a clearance certificate from the German Youth Welfare Office.

Persons traveling with minors who are not their own children must submit a certified copy of the child’s complete birth certificate (not an extract), as well as a sworn affidavit or statutory declaration, plus certified copy of the passport and contact details of both parents or legal guardians of the child.


8. Driver’s License

Do I need an international driver’s license?

In South Africa, you will need an international driver’s license. However, this is only valid in connection with a valid national driver’s license, so you should carry both documents when driving. The necessary documents can be easily obtained from the responsible district administration or traffic authority office.


9. Payment

How do I pay in South Africa?

You can pay with Visa or Mastercard, and withdraw cash at ATMs (automatic teller machines) or cash points almost everywhere in the country. American Express and Diners Club are somewhat less accepted. EC cards carrying the Maestro sign can also be used to withdraw cash at ATMs, so an exchange of large quantities of cash is therefore not necessary.


10. Tipping

What size tip is usual in South Africa?

It is usual to give a tip in South Africa. In restaurants this accounts for 10% of the total bill. Taxis get 10% of the fare, and porters get 2 Rand per bag. You should also give a reasonable tip to the rangers and the lodge team when checking out. You will generally find information covering this topic in your room at hotels and lodges.

Your Personal South African Travel Selection

Besser vorbereitet

Stöbern Sie doch schon einmal durch die am häufigsten gestellten Fragen, wenn es um eine Reise nach Südafrika geht.

1. Reisezeit

In welchen Monaten ist es wettertechnisch am schönsten nach Südafrika zu reisen?

Das Wetter spielt eine entscheidende Rolle bei der Wahl der Orte, die Sie während Ihres Aufenthalts in Südafrika bereisen wollen. Unter Kennern des Landes werden die Wintermonate (Juni/Juli/August) sogar als die schöneren gewertet.
In diesen Monaten ist eine Safari besonders zu empfehlen. Es kann zwar Nachts und Morgens recht kühl werden, aber die Wärme am Tag versöhnt wieder. In dieser Zeit werden viele Junge geboren und das Dickicht im Busch hat nachgelassen. Also eine gute Gelegenheit, um erfolgreich die Tiere zu entdecken. Ab August können die Wale in der Nähe von Kapstadt beobachtet sowie im August und September die wunderschöne Flora und Fauna an der Westküste des Landes bestaunt werden.

Wann ist die beste Reisezeit für Kapstadt?

Natürlich immer! Das sind die Besonderheiten der Jahreszeiten in Kapstadt und der Kapregion:

Frühling
Es ist September, die Temperaturen in Kapstadt steigen wieder und Frühling ist in der Luft. Kapstadt ist jetzt in voller Blüte. Die Westküste ist berühmt für seine Blütezeit!
Der Frühling ist eine perfekte Reisezeit, um Kapstadt zu besuchen. Das Wetter am Kap ist mild, die durchschnittlichen Temperaturen liegen zwischen minimum 15 Grad im September und 17 Grad im Oktober mit vielen Tage in den [Mitt-] Zwanzigern und nicht selten auch höher! Die Tage werden länger, genug Zeit um Kapstadts Sonne zu genießen.

Sommer
Die heiße Jahreszeit beginnt Ende November und dauert bis Februar. Die durchschnittliche Temperatur liegt bei 25 Grad. Die wärmsten Monate sind Januar und Februar – da kann man bei über 30 Grad schon mal mächtig ins Schwitzen kommen.

Herbst
Herbst in Kapstadt – März und April – ist eine der schönsten Reisezeiten. Die Weinberge im Kap verwandeln sich in leuchtendes Rot, Braun, Orange und Gelb, während die Temperaturen angenehm bleiben. Die Durchschnittstemperatur im März ist 20 Grad und 18 Grad im April. Der Wind fällt und die Hänge auf dem Land werden zu Gold- und Scharlachfeldern.

Winter
Die Wintersaison dauert von Ende Mai bis August. Wind und Regen fegen manchmal die Straßen von Kapstadt, aber an anderen Tagen steigt die Temperatur auf bis 25 Grad. Wer Kapstadt im Winter besucht und sich fragt, was er einpacken soll, nimmt am besten etwas für jede Jahreszeit mit. Sonne, Regen, Wolken, Wind: Während eines guten Kapstädter Winters erlebt man alles. Der Winter ist eine sehr schöne Reisezeit in Kapstadt für alle, die freie Natur lieben und nicht jeden Tag 30 Grad brauchen. Die Vegetation saugt das Wasser auf und blüht in ganz Kapstadt. Die Kap-Halbinsel wird man nie grüner sehen.


2. Kleidung

Welche Kleidung ist empfehlenswert für eine Südafrika-Reise?

Für Ihren Urlaub in Südafrika sollte Ihre Kleidung dem warmen, gemäßigten Klima entsprechend leicht und luftdurchlässig sein. Da es zu jeder Jahreszeit in den einzelnen Regionen große Temperaturunterschiede zwischen Tag und Nacht geben kann, gehören Jacke oder warmer Pullover, feste Schuhe sowie ein Regenschutz mit ins Gepäck. Im Allgemeinen ist legere Kleidung angebracht.

Auf Safari sind neutrale Farben wie Braun, Beige und Khaki ideal. Kräftige Farben oder Weiß könnten die Tiere reizen. Gegen die intensive Sonnenstrahlung schützen Sie sich mit geeigneter Kopfbedeckung, Sonnenschutzcreme und das Tragen einer Sonnenbrille.


3. Malaria

Brauche ich für meinen Urlaub in Südafrika Malaria-Tabletten?

In den meisten Gebieten in Südafrika besteht keine Gefahr durch Malaria, mit Ausnahme des Krüger Nationalparks, der als Malariagebiet gilt. Obwohl das Risiko von Malaria im Krüger Park als sehr gering einzustufen ist., besteht in der Regenzeit ein leicht höhtes Risiko – vor allem begründet durch den Niederschlag, der zu diesem Zeitraum (November/März) fällt. Bitte informieren Sie sich im Vorfeld bei Ihrem Arzt oder einem Public Health Service über Impfungen und Malaria-Medikamente.


4. Impfungen

Brauche ich Impfungen für meine Reise in Südafrika?

Ob Sie für Ihren Urlaub in Südafrika eine Impfung benötigen, hängt von dem genauen Ort des Urlaubs ab. Für einen Besuch in Kapstadt, der Garden Route und dem Großteil Südafrikas ist keine Impfung erforderlich, es gibt Abschnitte des Krüger Nationalparks, wo es ratsam ist, sich gegen einige Krankheiten impfen zu lassen. Bitte informieren Sie sich im Vorfeld bei Ihrem Arzt oder einem Public Health Service über Impfungen und Malaria-Medikamente.


5. Sicherheit

Wie sicher ist ein Urlaub in Kapstadt und Südafrika?

Unter den Reisenden ist die Sicherheit bei einem Urlaub in Kapstadt und Südafrika ein viel diskutiertes Thema. Mein persönlicher Tipp ist: Tun Sie in Kapstadt oder Südafrika nichts, was Sie nicht auch in Barcelona oder New York oder anderen großen Metropolen und Ländern tun würden, dann ist Ihr Urlaub in Südafrika so sicher wie überall sonst auf der Welt.


6. Visum

Benötige ich ein Visum für Südafrika?

Deutsche Staatsbürger können bis zu 90 Tage ohne Visum in Südafrika Urlaub machen. Für die Einreise benötigen Sie einen Reisepass, der mindestens 30 Tage über die Ausreise aus Südafrika hinaus gültig ist und mindestens zwei freie Seiten für Sichtvermerke enthält.


7. Kinder

Hinweise für die Einreise von Minderjährigen (Auswärtiges Amt)

Am 26.05.2014 traten neue Regelungen für Reisen von Minderjährigen in Kraft. Personen unter 18 Jahren müssen bei der Ein- und Ausreise ab dem 01.06.2015 eine Geburtsurkunde vorweisen.
Diese können nach Auskünften des südafrikanischen Innenministeriums auch in anderen Sprachen als Englisch abgefasst sein. Kurzfristige Änderungen der Bestimmungen oder abweichende Auslegungen durch einzelne Dienststellen können jedoch nicht ausgeschlossen werden. Um Schwierigkeiten bei der Ein- und Ausreise zu vermeiden, wird daher bis auf Weiteres empfohlen, internationale Geburtsurkunden bzw. gegebenenfalls beglaubigte englische Übersetzungen mitzuführen.

Reist ein Minderjähriger nicht in Begleitung beider sorgeberechtigter Elternteile, muss außerdem nachgewiesen werden, dass der nicht anwesende Elternteil entweder mit der Reise einverstanden ist (eidesstattliche Versicherung („affidavit“), beglaubigte Passkopie und Kontaktdaten des nicht anwesenden Elternteils) bzw. dass die Einverständniserklärung nicht erforderlich ist  (gerichtlicher Beschluss über alleiniges Sorgerecht oder Sterbeurkunde oder Negativbescheinigung des deutschen Jugendamts, wenn die minderjährige Person in Deutschland wohnhaft ist).

Personen, die mit Minderjährigen reisen, welche nicht ihre eigenen Kinder sind, müssen eine beglaubigte Kopie der vollständigen Geburtsurkunde des Kindes, sowie eidesstattliche Versicherungen („affidavit“), beglaubigte Passkopien und die Kontaktdaten beider sorgeberechtigter Eltern bzw. des gesetzlichen Vertreters des Kindes vorlegen.


8. Führerschein

Brauche ich einen internationalen Führerschein?

In Südafrika benötigt man einen internationalen Führerschein. Allerdings gilt dieser nur in Verbindung mit dem nationalen Führerschein. Diesen erhält man leicht über das Bürgeramt oder das zuständige Kreisverwaltungsreferat.


9. Bezahlung

Wie zahle ich in Südafrika?

Fast überall im Land kann man mit der Visa- oder Mastercard bezahlen und am Geldautomaten Bargeld abheben. American Express ist eher reduziert akzeptiert. Mit der EC-Karte mit Maestro-Zeichen kann auch am Geldautomaten Geld abgehoben werden. Ein Umtausch einer größeren Menge ist daher nicht notwendig.


10. Trinkgeld

Wie viel Trinkgeld ist in Südafrika üblich?

In Südafrika ist es üblich Trinkgeld zu geben. In Restaurants macht das 10 Prozent der Gesamtrechnung aus. Taxifahrer bekommen 10 Prozent des Fahrpreises und Gepäckträger 2 Rand pro Gepäckstück. Den Rangern und dem Lodge-Team sollte man beim Check-Out ebenfalls ein angemessenes Trinkgeld geben. Hierfür finden Sie in der Regel Hinweise auf den Zimmern.